NSW Premier Chris Minns unveils his new frontbench


The New South Wales Premier, Chris Minns, has announced his government’s first full Ministry today.

The Minns Ministry is a reduced Cabinet of 22 Ministers but for the first time in NSW history, it will be 50 percent women (excluding the Premier).

For the first time, a woman will hold the position of Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council; a woman will also hold the portfolio of Energy (Penny Sharpe), Police (Yasmin Maree Catley), Regional NSW (Tara Moriarty), Finance (Courtney Houssos) and Regional Transport (Jennifer Kathleen Aitchison).

Member for Canterbury, Sophie Cotsis MP, remains Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Work Health and Safety.

Member for Rockdale, Steve Kamper MP, remains Minister for Small Business, Minister for Lands and Property, Minister for Multiculturalism and Minister for Sport.

Courtney Houssos MLC will take on the role of Minister for Finance and Minister for Natural Resources.

Penny Sharpe MP will take on the responsibility of Energy and Climate Change, Environment and Heritage, as well as Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council.

Yasmin Catley MP will take on the responsibility of Minister for Police and Counter Terrorism.

Jihad Dib MP will take on Customer Service and Digital Government, as well as Emergency Services and Youth Justice.

Tara Moriarty MP will take on Agriculture, Regional NSW and Western NSW.

David Harris MP will take on Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty, Gaming and Racing, Veterans, Medical Research, and the Central Coast.

“I’m proud of the team we have. We have a lot of hard work in front of us, and a big responsibility, but my team and I are up to the challenge,” Mr Minns said.




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

Almost one month later, Melbourne celebrates Greek National Day with parade

By Mary Sinanidis Thousands of Greek Australians gathered at South Melbourne FC's Lakeside Stadium in Albert Park on Sunday, April 14, for the annual parade...

Honouring Greek Parliamentarians at Melbourne Community’s vibrant gathering

By Mary Sinanidis Greek Community of Melbourne (GCM) President Bill Papastergiadis detailed the last-minute efforts undertaken to organise a reception for a whirlwind visit of...

Kalymnian Brotherhood of Darwin in turmoil over caretaker dispute

The Kalymnian Brotherhood of Darwin is in turmoil due to legal disputes between its caretakers and president. The matters have been taken to the Darwin...

Federal Minister calls for life ban on carer Anastasia Moutsos after sickening video of assault

In a recent investigation by 60 Minutes, three women were found to have bullied and assaulted a woman with cerebral palsy, Lee-Anne Mackey. The footage revealed...

Construction begins on new waterfront Pier Pavilion at Barangaroo

Construction has now commenced for the new and iconic Pier Pavilion at Watermans Cove in Barangaroo. The design was chosen based on a national competition...

You May Also Like

Cretan Brotherhood youth in Melbourne elect first female President in over a decade

The Cretan Brotherhood Youth of Melbourne and Victoria held their Annual General Meeting on January 17 and for the first time in over 10...

Greek frigate Hydra opens fire on drones in Gulf of Aden

On Wednesday, March 13, in the early hours of the morning, Greece’s frigate Hydra opened fire on two unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) in the...

Kytherians return to Roxy Theatre in Bingara for nostalgic dinner dance

Kytherians from across Australia congregated at the Roxy Theatre in the New South Wales town of Bingara over the weekend for the Kytherian Association...