Australia and Greece among countries committing to a ‘democratic’ internet


Australia and Greece are among 56 nations who are signing a political commitment that pushes for the internet to be supported by democratic values. 

This comes as the world combats internet policies from countries like Russia and China who encourage and exercise hostile internet practices.

The commitment aims to connect the wider digital community around the world by protecting human rights, promoting the free flow of information, and protecting the privacy of users. 

Australia’s Ambassador for Cyber Affairs and Critical Technology, Tobias Feakin, said at the official launch that Australia was very proud to be a part of the declaration. 

“We really must ensure that cyberspace reflects and is strengthened by human rights and liberal democratic values,” Dr Feakin said.

“It really needs to be resilient to those who would use digital technologies to undermine those rights and subvert those values,” he continued.

Other countries taking part of this declaration include Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Georgia, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, the United Kingdom, the United States and Ukraine.

Source: ABC




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
Angelo Tsarouchas Skits and Wits tour


Latest News

Fresco of Helen of Troy uncovered at Pompeii

Nearly 2,000 years since it was buried by volcanic rubble, the lost city of Pompeii is yielding even more impressive discoveries.

New casual Greek restaurant brings meze and cocktails to Adelaide’s CBD

Andrew Papadakis, the visionary who founded and successfully sold Meze Mazi, returns to the vibrant Adelaide restaurant scene.

Two Greek women included in ’30 Under 30′ Forbes list

In this year's European Forbes "30 Under 30" list, two exceptional Greek women have managed to stand out for their successful paths.

2,300-year-old tomb unearthed in Greece

A tomb in the ancient Macedonian city of Aegae in modern Vergina, Greece,  has been unearthed according to an All That’s Interesting report.

Yorgos Lanthimos’ new movie ‘Kinds of Kindness’ included in Cannes lineup

New films from Yorgos Lanthimos, Andrea Arnold and Francis Ford Coppola, will compete for the Palme d’Or at the 77th Cannes Film Festival.

You May Also Like

Biographer, Ilias Chrissochoidis, retells the story of Greek American film pioneer Spyros Skouras

Biographer, Ilias Chrissochoidis, retells the story of Greek American film pioneer and film executive, Spyros Skouras.

First German tanks arrive in Greece under Ukrainian swap deal

Germany delivered the first six of 40 Marder tanks to Greece on Tuesday as part of a Ukrainian swap deal between Greece and Germany.

‘It expands your horizons’: Lemonia Shoina on the return of GCM’s theatrical production 

One of the tight knit cast of ten, Lemonia Shoina explains why Creative Drama and Arts performance ‘MόNοι’ is one not to be missed.