Greece to co-host 2025 FIBA Women’s EuroBasket


Greece, The Czech Republic, Germany and Italy will co-host the 2025 FIBA European Women’s Basketball Championship (EuroBasket), the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) announced on Thursday, September 7.

Each country will host a part of the group phase, while the final phase of the 40th edition of the competition will be held solely in Athens, Greece, FIBA said in a statement.

This will be the first time that the event will be held in four countries. The cities that will host the teams have not yet been announced.

FIBA announced the Women’s EuroBasket will be co-hosted by Greece, The Czech Republic, Germany and Italy in 2025.

The decision was taken by the executive committee of FIBA ​​Europe and for the first time it gave the “anointment” to four countries, after the four competitions that have been “shared” in two countries, such as in 2015 in Romania and Hungary, in 2019 in Serbia and Latvia, in 2021 in France and Spain and in 2023 in Slovenia and Israel.

A total of 36 nations including the four co-hosts will compete in the 2025 FIBA Women’s EuroBasket qualifiers, but the four co-hosts will be placed in the same group in a modification to the competition system.

The remaining 32 teams will be drawn into eight groups of four teams and will compete for the last 12 spots in the final stage.

The draw for the Qualifiers will take place on September 19 at the House of Basketball in Mies, Switzerland with the first window to take place in November 2023. 




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

Music from the Heart: Dimitris Basis unites with Newtown Performing Arts High School

Greek singer Dimitris Basis is set to perform on Tuesday, June 4 with students from the Newtown High School of the Performing Arts.

Samian Brotherhood of Sydney & NSW donate to Samos hospitals

The Samian Brotherhood of Sydney and New South Wales 'Lykourgos' have donated to two Samos hospitals. Read more here.

Sale process ongoing for Hellenic Village’s $117.5 million property at Austral

The sale process for the Hellenic Village's 105-acre, $117.5 million property at Gurner Avenue in Austral, NSW is ongoing.

Apostolos Stamatelopoulos named in Socceroos squad for World Cup qualifier

Apostolos Stamatelopoulos has been named named in the 25-man squad for Australia’s upcoming FIFA World Cup 2026™ Qualifiers.

EU and Australia enhance cooperation on critical raw materials

The European Union (EU) and Australia have enhance cooperation on critical raw materials after the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Tuesday,...

You May Also Like

Bill Papas reportedly submits bid to purchase Greek Super League team Xanthi FC

Sydney Olympic president Bill Papas is due to take over Xanthi FC after he reportedly reached an agreement with current owner Christos Panopoulos.

Greek police arrest Islamic State suspect after migrant camp brawl

He was arrested on Thursday, accused of being a member of a terrorist group and participating in homicides.

Annual Odyssey Festival returns to Adelaide for its 16th year

The Greek Orthodox Community of South Australia is proud to announce its 16th Annual Hellenic Cultural Festival Odyssey.