HomeNewsAustraliaNSW Premier welcomes John Hatzistergos as ICAC Chief Commissioner

NSW Premier welcomes John Hatzistergos as ICAC Chief Commissioner




NSW Premier, Dominic Perrottet, confirmed the appointment of the Honourable John Hatzistergos AM as Chief Commissioner of the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) on Thursday.

His Honour Paul Lakatos SC, District Court Judge and President of the Mental Health Review Tribunal and the Honourable Helen Murrell SC, recently retired Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the ACT, were also appointed as Commissioners of the ICAC.

“These individuals have been charged with executing the powerful anti-corruption responsibilities of the ICAC and I expect them to bring their broad expertise and experience to these important roles,” Mr Perrottet said.

“I want to congratulate the new Commissioners on their appointments. I am confident we will continue to see the ICAC work to ensure the integrity and accountability of public administration in NSW and hold public officials to the highest standards.”

The appointments will be for five-year terms and Hatzistergos will commence his appointment on August 7.

Hatzistergos has a lengthy legal and political career that saw him awarded in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List in 2018 for significant service to the law and the judiciary and to the people and Parliament of NSW.

Hatzistergos was called to the NSW Bar in 1989 and practised as a barrister from 1989 to 2003 and 2012 to 2014. He was Chair of the Joint Committee on the ICAC from 1999 to 2003.

Between 2003 and 2011, Mr Hatzistergos was a Minister in the NSW Government, holding portfolios including Attorney General, Minister for Justice, Minister for Regulatory Reform, Minister for Health and Minister for Industrial Relations.

From 2012 to 2014, Hatzistergos was an Examiner at the Australian Crime Commission.

In 2014 he was appointed as a Judge of the District Court of NSW and was commissioned by the Government to conduct a 12-month review of the Bail Act 2013.

READ MORE: John Hatzistergos named the new ICAC chief

Recent posts