Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev win the Hessian Peace Prize 2020


Former Prime Minister of Greece, Alexis Tsipras, and the Prime Minister of North Macedonia, Zoran Zaev, have been awarded the Hessian Peace Prize 2020 for settling the name dispute between the two states.

Tsipras and Zaev settled the name dispute between the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Greece with the Prespa Agreement on February 12, 2019.

The little Balkan country north of Greece was officially named North Macedonia and gained membership in the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation.

READ MORE: Leaders of Greece and North Macedonia discuss Prespa Agreement.

“With the Hessian Peace Prize, we are honoring two people who have worked for peace and international understanding and who succeeded in resolving a conflict that goes back deep into history,” Boris Rhein, President of the Landtag, said after the award was announced.

Former Prime Minister of Greece, Alexis Tsipras (right), and the Prime Minister of North Macedonia, Zoran Zaev (left), have been awarded the Hessian Peace Prize 2020.

“The two of them… reached an agreement in the decades-long conflict between their countries, Greece and Macedonia, over the name ‘Macedonia.’ In doing so, they achieved a truly diplomatic feat that no one had managed before.”

Board of Trustees member, Professor Dr Nicole Deitelhoff, added that Tsipras and Zaev “out their political careers at risk” to settle the name dispute.

READ MORE: Alexis Tsipras congratulates North Macedonia’s Zoran Zaev on election victory.

“Zoran Zaev and Alexis Tsipras have departed from the pattern of insisting on maximum positions and ruling out agreement as defeat or treason,” Professor Deitelhoff said.

“In doing so, they put their political careers at risk and had to negotiate numerous compromises as well as concessions within their parliaments.

“The agreement is accompanied by the hope of good cooperation and partnership between North Macedonia and Greece. The settlement of the dispute is an example of reconciliation in the region and Europe as a whole.”

READ MORE: Greek businesses unite to further interests in North Macedonia.

The Hessian Peace Prize was established in 1993 by Albert Osswald, the former Prime Minister of the German state of Hesse.

It is awarded annually to people who have rendered “outstanding services to international understanding and peace.”




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

Community unites to support restoration of Australia’s oldest Greek Orthodox church

Greek community members united on Sunday, June 23 to support the restoration of Australia's oldest Greek Orthodox church.

Ambassador Stavros Venizelos holds first meeting with Greek organisations from SA

On Sunday, June 23, Ambassador of Greece to Australia, Stavros Venizelos, met with a number of Hellenic organisations in South Australia.

Greek community urges action to make St Vasilios hall in Brunswick accessible to all

Parishioners at St Vasilios Church in Brunswick West want to install a lift to make the church's community hall more accessible.

Ava Caryofyllis nominated for Logie for ‘Most Popular New Talent’

Young actress Ava Caryofyllis has been nominated for a Logie award in the Most Popular New Talent category.

Greece’s Ambassador visits offices of the Greek Orthodox Community of SA

The Ambassador of Greece to Australia, Stavros Venizelos, visited the offices of the Greek Orthodox Community of South Australia on Saturday.

You May Also Like

Theatre at Lycabettus Hill to reopen after 15 years

The renowned Lycabettus Hill theatre in Athens, Greece will be ready for use by August 30 this year in time for a festival.

Greece defeats Norway in men’s senior rugby international

Greece has defeated Norway by 30 points in their men's senior rugby international over the weekend on Saturday, November 4.

Afghan father faces criminal charges after son drowns trying to reach Samos

The 25-year-old Afghan father could face a six-year prison sentence if found guilty of putting his son's life at risk.