Australia and New Zealand secure victory in bid to host the 2023 Women’s World Cup


Australia and New Zealand, in a joint bid labelled “As One 2023”, have won the historic bid to host the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

The trans-Tasman nations beat out that of Colombia by 22 votes to 13 at the FIFA Council meeting in Zurich early this morning.

The tournament will be the first co-confederation-hosted FIFA World Cup (Australia, being part of the Asian football confederation and New Zealand a member of the Oceanic branch), as well as the first FIFA Women’s World Cup to be held in the Asia-Pacific region.

Scenes of players and FFA officials cheering with passion showered social media after the announcement was made in the early hours of this morning.

FIFA Council president Gianni Infantino proposed that the FIFA tournament will be the “best World Cup ever, in Australia and New Zealand.”

“It will be even more global and have much positive impact on the development of women’s football,” Mr Infantino said.

The announcement was marked by the sails of the Sydney Opera House, which lit up with fireworks and confetti behind the iconic image of Matildas captain Sam Kerr backflipping in celebration.(Twitter: The Matildas)

Football Federation Australia chairman Chris Nikou said the successful bid was an enormous opportunity to grow football in the region.

“FIFA today has made not one, but two countries very happy,” Mr Nikou said.

“Our pledge to the FIFA family is that no stone will be left unturned to produce the best World Cup and grow the women’s game globally and in the Asia-Pacific region.”

FIFA Council president Gianni Infantino and Secretary-General Fatma Samba Diouf Samoura present Australia and New Zealand the official hosting certificate. (FIFA)

The proposed Australian venues include the Sydney Football Stadium, ANZ Stadium in Sydney, Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, Hindmarsh Stadium in Adelaide, HBF Park in Perth, AAMI Park in Melbourne, McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle and York Park in Launceston.

The New Zealand venues are Eden Park in Auckland, Wellington Regional Stadium, Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin, Waikato Stadium and Christchurch Stadium.

ANZ Stadium is the proposed venue for the final while Eden Park in Auckland will likely host the opening ceremony and opening match.

Speaking after the vote, Infantino slammed speculation that the Women’s World Cup was held in a lower regard to the men’s tournament.

“It is not a development tournament, obviously it is not a development tournament,” he said. “It’s not just a Women’s World Cup, it’s a World Cup, we need to realise that. Women are fifty per cent of the population.”

Collectively, the Australian and New Zealand federal governments will contribute nearly $110 million towards operational costs.




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

The first Greek to ever step foot in America

His name was Theodore and he disembarked on the coast of Florida on April 14, 1528. He was a member of a Spanish exploratory...

Three Greek beaches among the best in the world

In anticipation of the upcoming season, BeachAtlas has once again decided to compile its own ranking of the top 100 beaches in the world,...

Cyprus-Greece ferry connection to restart in May

The Cyprus-Greece maritime passenger connection will run for a third consecutive year, subsidized by Nicosia following the European Commission approval. An announcement from Cyprus’ Deputy...

Legend of the Church of Panagia Platsani on Santorini island

The Church of Panagia Platsani is the most famous church in Oia on the northern part of the Greek island of Santorini. Situated at the...

Antiquity missing since WWII returns to Greece

An ancient artifact, missing since German occupation, has been returned to Greece by Hanover’s municipality and the August Kestner Museum, the Greek Culture Ministry...

You May Also Like

Yianni Koutouzis says China’s removal of tariffs on Australian wine not an immediate fix

The owner of Sixty Eight Roses and Riverland grape grower Yianni Koutouzis has stressed that the removal of Chinese tariffs on Australian wine wouldn't be...

It’s about authenticity: Photographer Melissa Gamvros on her project ‘Woven Pictures’

Sydney based photographer, Melissa Gamvros has been documenting her life and the people in it from a young age.  Aiming to encourage the individuals she...

Rethymno wins European Sustainable Urban Mobility Award

The Cretan city of Rethymno has been crowned the winner of the EU Urban Road Safety Award by the European Commission. The awards ceremony took...