Elena Carapetis appointed on SA’s new Artists at Work Taskforce


After a call for expressions of interest last November, SA Minister for the Arts, Andrea Michaels MP, today announced 27 experts from across the arts, cultural and creative industries would make up the state government’s new Artists at Work Taskforce.

This comes as the Malinauskas Government promised at the state election to create a taskforce to investigate work insecurity and income inequality experienced by some South Australian artists and arts workers.

Taskforce members include Art Gallery of South Australia Chair and former Lord Mayor Sandy Verschoor, Adelaide Festival Chief Executive Kath M Mainland and Artistic Director Ruth Mackenzie, and South Australian actress and writer Elena Carapetis.

Members will convene regularly over a four-month period to provide expertise and advice on current issues and industry trends and developments.

The taskforce will make recommendations to the Minister on actions the State Government can take to address the issues artists and arts workers face in South Australia.

Andrea Michaels MP
Andrea Michaels.

Minister Michaels said it was fantastic to announce the members of the important new taskforce and thanked all who applied.

“There is tremendous passion and experience in South Australia’s arts, culture and creative sector, reflected by the representatives who have joined this taskforce, and who will help create better outcomes and opportunities for artists and arts workers in our state,” she said.

“Our arts, culture and creative sector contributes so much to South Australia and to the wellbeing of our community and it is vital that we ensure the sustainability of the sector for the long-term.

“I want South Australia to be a place where our arts, culture and creative sector grow and thrive and I look forward to working with the Artists at Work Taskforce to achieve this.”

The members are:

  • Alison Lloydd-Wright (Chair)
  • Elena Carapetis
  • Daniel Connell
  • Aaron Connor
  • Mimi Crowe
  • Christopher Drummond
  • Sarah Feijen
  • Jennifer Greer Holmes
  • Angela Heesom
  • Justyna Jochym
  • Amanda Macri
  • Ross McHenry
  • Nicholas Linke
  • Nathan Luscombe

For more details and member biographies visit: https://www.dpc.sa.gov.au/responsibilities/arts-and-culture/artists-at-work-taskforce




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

Cypriots to gather at Melbourne’s Federation Square to mark 50 years since Turkish invasion

The Cyprus 50th Anniversary Action Group is calling on communities to join in marking the 50th anniversary of the Turkish invasion of Cyprus.

Peter Courtis travels to Pearl Harbor for training on US nuclear-powered submarines

Nuclear shift test engineer, Peter Courtis will leave for Pearl Harbor on Saturday to work on US nuclear-powered submarines.

Perth Glory women’s head coach Alex Epakis to depart club

Perth Glory can confirm that its Liberty A-League Head Coach, Alex Epakis, has given notice of his intention to depart the club.

Sydney doctor Peter Alexakis reprimanded for professional misconduct

Peter Alexakis reprimanded with more than a dozen conditions placed on his registration by the NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal.

Renowned Sydney businessman Kikis Eftimiou OAM passes away

Renowned Sydney businessman Kikis Eftimiou OAM has passed away today at the age of 91. Read his migrant story here.

You May Also Like

Mitsotakis confirms Greek support for Ukraine as Joint Declarations signed in Athens

Eleven Balkan leaders including Greece issued the Athens Declaration statement after an informal dinner held by Kyriakos Mitsotaki on Monday.

Nick Kyrgios is snubbed by Rafael Nadal as future tennis great

Rafael Nadal has left Nick Kyrgios off his list of rising talents in tennis in the wake of his incredible 19th Grand Slam victory. Nadal’s...

Archbishop Makarios of Australia visits offices of Greek Orthodox Community of NSW for first time

Archbishop Makarios of Australia visited the offices of the Greek Orthodox Community of NSW (GOCNSW) in Lakemba, Sydney for the first time.