Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev to receive Westphalia Peace Prize for “diplomatic skills”


This year’s Westphalia Peace Prize will be awarded to Alexis Tsipras and former prime minister of the Republic of North Macedonia, Zoran Zaev.

According to the International Review Board of the Westphalia-Lippe Regional Association, the two former prime ministers are honoured for their “diplomatic skills” with the Prespa Agreement and for their contribution to stability. 

“Alexis Tsipras and Zoraf Zaev with the Prespa agreement, which has solved a decades-long dispute over the name, have created a diplomatic workforce and have contributed decisively to the stability of the entire Balkan region,” Raidan Oshiran said for Westphalia-Lippe (LWL).

As the Deutsche Welle reports in reference to the award decision, “both former prime ministers, but especially the Greeks, have put political logic above their personal careers, without taking into account their tenure in office. Without Tsipras and Zaev, the name dispute would not have ended and the long-running (name dispute) could continue to destabilise the entire Balkan region.” 

The award was instituted in 1998 by the The Westphalia-Lippe Regional Association (LWL), in memory of the key principles of the Westphalian Peace Agreement in 1648 that sealed the end of the Thirty Years’ War: religious peace and tolerance. 

The award honours personalities or representatives of states that have become a role model for Europe and the world for their work for peace.

Sourced by: Efsyn




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

Breaking taboos: Greek Australian end-of-life doula to launch death cafe

Katerina Stevens is carving a unique path for herself as a newly-minted death doula. Read more about her story here.

The Greek Herald’s exposé on Orthodox funeral certificate up for Walkley Foundation award

The Greek Herald journalist Pamela Rontziokos has been named finalist for the Walkley Foundation’s 2024 Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism.

Dimitris Basis to wow crowds at Greek Fest Brighton-Le-Sands

The Greek Festival of Sydney has announced that Dimitris Basis will grace the stage at the Greek Fest at Brighton-Le-Sands on Sunday, May 26.

Young descendant of Cretan resistance fighters shares thoughts on Battle of Crete

The Battle of Crete was the operation for the capture of Crete by the Germans during World War II. On the morning of May 20, 1941.

Federation of Greek Elderly Citizens Clubs of Victoria to hold new elections

The Federation of Greek Elderly Citizens Club of Melbourne and Victoria will hold new elections on Friday, June 7.

You May Also Like

Turkish hackers target Greek government websites, stock exchange

Turkish hackers claimed on Friday to have hijacked for more than 90 minutes the official websites of the Greek parliament, the foreign affairs and...

Greek escape room voted best in the world

A Greek escape room in Athens was voted number one in the world by Top Escape Rooms Project Enthusiasts in 2022. 

Greek frigate Hydra opens fire on drones in Gulf of Aden

On Wednesday, March 13, Greece’s frigate Hydra opened fire on two unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) in the Gulf of Aden.