Mistura: The Sydney band taking people on a music journey around the world

·

Are you ready to be taken on a music journey around the world? The Sydney-based band Mistura is set to do just that during their upcoming concert on Friday, March 31 at Bankstown Sports – The Theatre from 7pm.

Ahead of the concert – which is part of the Greek Festival of Sydney – The Greek Herald reached out to co-founder and lead vocalist of Mistura, Haido Spiliopoulos, to find out what people can expect on the night.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. How did you get involved with music?

I have been involved in music and the music industry since I was 10 years old. I studied classical piano to AMUS level and the piano, along with singing, were my instruments in the Higher School Certificate. Rather than going to the Conservatorium to continue to explore my passion for music performance and composition, I was a good Greek Australian and listened to my mother’s advice to go to university and complete a solid degree that I could use as a back-up in my life. I studied a Bachelor of Commerce (majoring in marketing) at UNSW. This successfully opened doors to Sony Music and later Universal Music, working in International Marketing and Promo however, my urge to be an artist was calling me.

To my family’s shock, I decided to move to London to pursue my dream in 2003. I lived in London for five years and had the greatest music learning curve of my life. My writing partner and producer, Dreadlox Holmes, co-wrote, recorded and released two albums with me, Who I Be (2005) and The Love Album (2008). We released all our product, as well as other artists’, under our own indie label Havavision Records in the UK. I kept busy playing live around London and promoting and licensing our music.