South Melbourne FC crowned champions at NPLW Victoria Grand Final 2023


South Melbourne FC have been crowned National Premier Leagues Victoria Women’s Champions for 2023 after defeating Bulleen Lions 4-2 at the Home of the Matildas on Saturday, September 9.

Senior Head Coach, George Georgiadis, led the South Melbourne Senior Women’s team to victory. Image: Bill Roumeliotis.

Hellas Melbourne won the title after an excellent game by both teams, but the team lead by Senior Head Coach, George Georgiadis, proved more effective scoring four impressive goals. The first two goals came from direct corners in the 14th minute by Tayla Christensen and in the 28th minute by Akeisha Sandhu, while the other two goals were scored in the 70th minute by Danielle Wise and in the 87th minute by Zoe Lambi. Bulleen’s goals were scored in 22′ and 90+4′ by Maja Markovski.

Hellas Melbourne, who were the underdogs of the season, managed to close the year victorious.

This triumph will be added to their WPL wins in 2011, 2014 and 2015 and their maiden NPLW triumph in 2017. 

Akeisha Sandhu scored a goal for South Melbourne is the 28th minute. Image: Bill Roumeliotis.

Also on Saturday, in the Under-19 Women’s Grand Final, Hellas Melbourne was defeated by Heidelberg United FC 2-3.

South Melbourne Women’s Under 19’s team.




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

Difficult period in Greece as firefighters battle 55 wildfires

Wildfires are breaking out across Greece, with more erupting on Tuesday on Evia Island, Attica, and Thebes, Central Greece.

Greek EU lawmaker to remain in Albanian prison, raising tensions with Greece

Fredi Beleri, the ethnic Greek mayor-elect of the Albanian town of Himare, will remain in prison after an Albanian court rejected his appeal.

Data breach hits Cyprus Community of NSW amid Stanmore property EOI campaign

The Cyprus Community of NSW has been struck by a data breach, leading to a wave of unauthorised communications sent to its members.

Adelaide Lord Mayor holds reception to mark centenary of Australia’s Greek Orthodox Archdiocese

Lord Mayor of Adelaide Dr Jane Lomax-Smith held a reception in honour of the centenary of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia (GOAA).

Kon Karapanagiotidis and ASRC team raise over $1.4 million for refugees

Kon Karapanagiotidis OAM and his team raised just under one and a half million dollars for World Refugee Day in 17 hours.

You May Also Like

Greek Australian Fitness Trainer selected to keynote first ever ‘Greek Fitness Conference’

Jono Petrohilos was recently announced as a keynote speaker for the first ever Greek Fitness Conference and will look to educate some of the world's most passionate fitness trainers.

First visit in 24 years of an Archbishop to Greek Orthodox Church in Canberra

Archbishop Makarios marked the first time in over two decades an Archbishop has served a liturgy in the St Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church, Canberra

‘No limits’ on who can get vaccinated, NSW Government tells multicultural communities

NSW Minister for Multiculturalism Natalie Ward and Dr. Jan Fizzell spoke to multicultural media on Wednesday about the vaccination rollout and targeting COVID-19 messaging...