South Melbourne FC awarded at the NPL Victoria Senol Gold Medal Night 2023


Football Victoria hosted the NPL Victoria Senol Gold Medal Night 2023 on Tuesday, September 5, at Melbourne Park with over 700 people in attendance.

South Melbourne FC defender Jake Marshall claimed the 2023 NPLM Gold Medal.

South Melbourne FC (SMFC) defender Jake Marshall claimed the 2023 NPLM Gold Medal on 25 votes, while Boroondara goal-scorer Kurea Okino took home the NPLW Gold Medal, finishing one vote ahead of Alamein’s Sidney Allen on 27 votes.

Mr Marshall had an outstanding season in the heart of the defence for South Melbourne, guiding his side to the best defensive record in the league.

He is the third South Melbourne player to win this award, with club legends Fernando De Moraes and Milos Lujic both receiving the honour.

Left to Right: Javier Lopez, Esteban Quintas and Jake Marshall.

Also awarded from SMFC was Javier Lopez, winning the NPLM Goalkeeper of the Year.

“Javier Lopez has been nothing short of amazing during his two seasons at Lakeside and was again awarded the NPL Victoria Goalkeeper of the Season last night,” SMFC said in a statement.

South Melbourne took home the Club Media Award for a second consecutive year.

South Melbourne FC won the Club Media Award that was accepted by George Kouroumalis and Skip Fulton.

The full list of awards is below:


Gold Medal: Jake Marshall (South Melbourne)
Players’ Player: Jonas Markovski (Altona Magic)
Golden Boot: Jonas Markovski (Altona Magic)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Javier Lopez (South Melbourne) 
Coach of the Year: Ben Cahn (Melbourne Knights), Zoran Markovski (Avondale)
Goal of the Year: Kristian Bombaci (Port Melbourne)
NPLM Referee of the Year: Adam Bavcar 


Gold Medal: Kurea Okino (Boroondara Eagles)
Players’ Player: Kurea Okino (Boroondara Eagles)
Golden Boot: Kurea Okinio (Boroondara Eagles) 
Goalkeeper of the Year: Natalie Picak (Calder United)  
Coach of the Year: Loui Spiridis (Bayside United) 
Goal of the Year: Margot Robinne (Boroondara Eagles) 
NPLW Referee of the Year: Caitlin Williams   


Best and Fairest: Stephen Lawless (Werribee City) 
Players’ Player: Luke Lofts (Bulleen Lions)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Wonsuk Choi (Bulleen Lions) 
Coach of the Year: George Karkaletsis (Manningham United Blues) 
Golden Boot: Luke Lofts (Bulleen Lions)


Best and Fairest: Redouane Sarakh (North Sunshine Eagles)
Players’ Player: Joshua Whiteley (Caroline Springs George Cross)
Goalkeeper of the Year: Christian Siciliano (Melbourne Victory) 
Coach of the Year: Eric Vassiliadis (Caroline Springs George Cross)
Golden Boot: Russell Currie (Goulburn Valley Suns), Redouane Sarakh (North Sunshine Eagles), Joshua Whiteley (Caroline Springs George Cross)

Media Awards:

Club Media Award: South Melbourne FC 
Bill Fleming Media Award: Jonas Markovski (Altona Magic)  
NPLW Media Player of the Year: Kurea Okino (Boroondara Eagles)  
Les Shorrock Best Football Image Award: Rob Cruse, Martin Petrusevski

Source: Football Victoria




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

International conference brings Darwin to Greece and the world

The 4th International Conference on the Hellenic Diaspora begins on May 31 at Charles Darwin University’s (CDU) Casuarina campus.

Kosmidis family’s service station chain in SA bought by industry giant

Petrol station giant BP Australia has acquired South Australian fuel and convenience retailer X Convenience from the Kosmidis family.

Melbourne businessman Demetrios ‘James’ Charisiou jailed over $395 million fraud

Demetrios 'James' Charisiou has been sentenced to 12 years in prison for a fraud scheme that took $395 million from Korean investors.

Greek Community of Melbourne welcomes progress on Greek National Tourism Office

The Greek Community of Melbourne has welcomed the announcement by Greece's Ministry of Tourism on an EOT office.

SYRIZA leader Stefanos Kasselakis visits Palestine to advocate for state recognition

Main opposition SYRIZA-Progressive Alliance leader Stefanos Kasselakis is visiting Palestine from Sunday until Monday, May 26-27.

You May Also Like

George Manis and Tony Parisi bring the Open Studio Arts Trail to South Gippsland

George Manis and Tony Parisi, are launching the first art trail in South Gippsland, Victoria, this Friday, September 22.

Dirt bike rider shocked after being charged over burnout in front of police in Sutherland

Ryan Findanis, 22, was charged with reckless driving after pedestrians saw him ripping through a 10km/h shared zone on Eton St, Sutherland in his Subaru BRZ

Cyprus proposes maritime corridor to get aid to Gaza

The President of Cyprus, Nikos Christodoulides, has proposed opening a maritime corridor in an effort to help send more aid to Gaza.