Greece extends travel ban for all non-EU citizens until May 28


Greece’s Civil Aviation Authority announced on Wednesday that it would extend a travel ban on all non-EU citizens until May 28 as part of measures to halt the spread of the coronavirus in Greece.

Commercial flights to and from six countries also remain banned until May 15 at the very least.

“For the purpose of preventing the spread of COVID-19, the Civil Aviation Authority announces the extension of the temporary ban on flights from Italy, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Germany to Greece and vice versa,” the announcement read.

Usually busy tourist destinations in Greece are now deserted following the travel ban. Source: AP News.

The travel ban to these countries excludes humanitarian and cargo flights, including those containing hygiene products.

All emergency and military flights, as well as the transportation of FRONTEX personnel, will also be allowed. Turkey is excluded from the military aspect of this exception.

With 108 deaths and a little over 2,200 confirmed cases, the Greek government is preparing to start gradually lifting restrictions in early May.

READ MORE: Greece closes borders to all non-EU citizens.




By subscribing you accept our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.


Latest News

Panagia Soumela Monastery: Pilgrimage to the ancient cradle of Pontic Hellenism

Carved into Mount Melas in Trabzon, the Monastery of Panagia Soumela has stood proudly for over 1,600 years.

Memories that ‘bleed’: A visit to the Armenian Genocide Museum

The wine, the conversation with Maria and Aram, all pieces in the puzzle of my stay in Armenia’s capital had been carefully placed.

Australian Business Summit Council launch fifth issue of ‘Ekonomos’

The Australian Business Summit Council Inc. hosted 250 business leaders, diplomats and politicians at its lavish Annual Gala Dinner.

Dora and George Hatzikiriakos’ fish and chip shop among the best on NSW South Coast

The Eurobodalla on the NSW south coast is home to some of the best fish and chip joints. "Harzikiriakos' Ocean Grill is one of them.

Two Greek beaches among Tripadvisor’s top European beaches for 2024

Greece saw two beaches included in Tripadvisor’s Best Beaches in Europe for 2024, as part of its annual Travellers’ Choice Awards.

You May Also Like

Thousands in NSW forced to evacuate as flood crisis continues

About 30,000 people have been impacted by the flooding event across Sydney, the Hunter and Illawarra, with 71 evacuation orders in place.

Valentine’s Day: Greek stories of love and devotion that lasted through time

The Greek Herald spoke with Greek migrants, and at times their children, to find out their secrets to a lasting marriage.

Greeks, Armenians and Assyrians join forces to March for Justice in Sydney and Melbourne

The Greek Australian, Armenian Australian and Assyrian Australian communities will March for Justice in Sydney and Melbourne on April 24.